Day 5 #HLSDITL

Leave a comment

March 9, 2013 by sojosol

This post is part of Hack Library School’s “Day in the Life of a Library Student.” The goal is to show hopeful future SLISers what LIS School is like, and to create a platform for communication between students (and professionals).

So, here is my run-down of DAY 5:

I actually got decent sleep! I didn’t get up until about 9:30 AM, which made me feel super lazy, but I probably got about 7 hours of good sleep! Evidently, I forgot to turn on my alarm- whoops! I will say though, I only drank 1 cup of coffee today, and felt generally more relaxed.

I spent the morning reading up on accessibility issues with social media (again). I also have a basic outline of what I want to teach my classmates about image description for visually impaired users. I think students will learn a lot in our presentation, but I’m worried that we don’t have enough information about technologies outside of PCs and Macs. Regardless, the presentation is this upcoming week, so I have no plans to make major changes- it is what it is!

After lunch, I went over to SLIS at Gorgas library. I needed to turn in my receipts from our Project ALFA trip to Atlanta, and I needed to print some stuff. I printed all the paperwork for my other group’s usability study. I was frustrated, because I forgot to increase the font size on the consent forms, so they aren’t as big as I would like. I know 12-point is standard, but the 14 is so much easier to see!

Once my printing was done, I completed a MES (mobile experiential sensory) lab survey for Project ALFA. Then, I worked on my Admission to Candidacy form. I’ll have to get with the office staff, because I’m not sure what some of the fields are asking. As an aside, it was a GORGEOUS day today! I just wanted to walk and walk and walk around campus! This native Floridia never though she’d see the day that 65 degrees was considered warm!

When I got home, I went on a cleaning rampage! I scrubbed the tile grout in my bathroom, picked up, dusted, did laundry, and sanitized the apartment. To cap it all off, I was able to open the windows and air out the apartment (love this weather). My apartment smells fresh and clean, and it gave me energy to work on school and other stuff!

After dinner, I worked on my TAXES. Being a broke student, this isn’t terrible, because I get money back- which is awesome! Unfortunately, I have to wait a week to finish, because a form I need was sent to my home in Florida. I left this activity and read/watched more about accessibility issues. I have an article analysis due soon though, so I make a mental note to tackle that tomorrow.

I finish the evening freaking out about next semester. This is when I have my weekly existential crisis. I realized that I’ll be applying for graduation in a just a few short weeks. I’m currently trying to get an internship in a completely different city, and I don’t know how I’ll afford ANY of it. I’m excited to push my boundaries and engage in new information environments, but it’s difficult to leave what I know is secure. I spend the evening looking at prices for apartments and storage facilities. It’s difficult, because I keep looking at my budget, and thinking, “if I only had about one or two more thousand dollars, it would be easy.” Regardless, I’m not giving up that easily. My advisor said that if you want something badly enough, you’ll find a way to make it happen. I guess I’m there.

Beyond that, I keep freaking out about formal library experience. I have none, and this internship won’t provide any. All I see around me are postings for library jobs, and they all require formal experience. I’m looking to break through the boundaries of formal libraries, and be an “information professional.” I feel like I haven’t been given a lot of information about those kinds of librarian careers, and I just worry (CONSTANTLY) that I’m not acquiring appropriate skills and experience. Yes, this is my constant personal crisis- it’s always in the back of my mind. I paced for about an hour while I fixated on this career-related identity crisis. *sigh*

I’m sad that this is the last day of #HLSDITL, but it will be nice to have a break from nightly blogging! I’ll make sure to post follow-up details on the internship, and I’ll try to back off of those existential crises! Thanks for following my days this week!

DAY 5 COMPLETE

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

